Mr Cat   The Jackal is a unique five piece multi-instrumental group often described as experimental acoustic folk whilst exploring blues, tango, pirate, Balkan and Irish themes. With a circus of sounds created by foreign and handmade instruments – their live performance calls for a complete theatrical experience.

The band formed in 2006, originally devoted to writing musical scores for theatre productions. They received a KANNA nomination for their work in Shakespeare’s ‘The Tempest’ (Die Storm, KKNK), and a ‘Fiesta’ award nomination at Aardklop in 2010 for the soundtrack of ‘Die Kortsondige Raklewe van Anasasia W’ composed with Braam du Toit – to mention only a few of the projects MCATJ also compose for.

Their debut album, Themes and Variations, was released in November 2007. Since then the band has been touring Southern Africa repeatedly and kept on refining their craft through commandeering festivals and entertaining audiences at every venue available. In March 2011, MCATJ released their much anticipated second studio album, Sins   Siren Songs, to raving reviews and critical acclaim.

The group spends its time in their studio writing, inventing and building instruments and song structures. Gertjie, Jacques, Pierre, JC and Johan all come from diverse musical backgrounds and aim to one day spread their Galilean gospel like galigaskan wearing fools on a galiot with a game plan.

This interface is built using HTML5 that is not compatible with this version of Internet Explorer. Please upgrade by clicking here or install Mozilla Firefox by clicking here